Excerpts.3

I did not come here of my own accord, and I can not leave that way.
Whoever brought me here will have to take me home.
~Rumi

“He is a revolutionary. Artists like revolutionaries, because they’re revolutionaries.”
–James Bartlett, speaking about Nelson Mandela

“The drums of Africa still beat in my heart. They will not let me rest while there is a single Negro boy or girl without a chance to prove his worth.”
–Mary McLeod Bethune

“Dig the well before you are thirsty.”
–Chinese Proverb

“What we dwell on is who we become.”
~Oprah Winfrey

“Do not wait to strike till the iron is hot; but make it hot by striking.”
~William Butler Yeats

“I’m an African-American poet; I’m a woman poet; I’m an American poet. But I’m a poet first.”
–RITA DOVE

“God is really only another artist. He invented the giraffe, the elephant and the cat. He has no real style, He just goes on trying other things.”
–Pablo Picasso

“The work of the artist is to express what is repressed or even to speak the unspoken grief of society.”
–Michael Leunig

“Then we fell into that place where we talked in poetry.”
~McCall Erickson

“Poetry is math without the rules.”
–John Guzlowski

“The poetry of the earth is never dead.”
~John Keats

“Poetry lifts the veil from the hidden beauty of the world, and makes familiar objects be as if they were not familiar.”
–Shelley